The Benefits of Becoming a Member

By joining NGA, you will become part of a growing and innovative industry association.


Safety is the gas industry's number one priority.

Learn more about our commitment to infusing Pipeline Safety Management Systems in everything we do.


Training & Qualification

Learn more about the Training and qualification programs currently being offered by the Northeast Gas Association (NGA)

About Us

The Northeast Gas Association (NGA) is a regional trade association that focuses on education and training, technology research and development, pipeline safety, energy reliability and affordability, and environmental initiatives in the Northeast U.S.



NGA Launches PSMS Excellence in Safety Recognition Program

NGA is pleased to announce the launch of the Pipeline Safety Management System (PSMS) Excellence in Safety Recognition Program. Through the program, NGA will recognize member operating organizations and contractors that demonstrate innovative and exceptional approaches to implementing core PSMS principles.

Unlike traditional safety recognition programs that are typically based on injury frequency rates; NGA seeks to recognize organizations that have taken unique approaches to fostering a culture of pipeline safety focused on safety management system operational excellence. Through the program, we seek to recognize those members who have demonstrated PSMS leadership and management commitment.

Examples of areas we intend to highlight include:

  • Stakeholder engagement;
  • Risk management;
  • Operational controls;
  • Incident investigation, evaluation and lessons learned;
  • Safety assurance and management reviews;
  • Emergency preparedness programs;
  • Competency, awareness and training;
  • Continuous improvement practices;
  • Regulatory compliance conformance, and;
  • Employee injury prevention and wellness programs.

The benefits of the program will be twofold. First, we will celebrate the organizations and employees who are excelling. Second, by sharing these successful programs, we will offer inspiration to others as they implement similar programs and practices.

Selected organizations will receive recognition at the NGA Executive Conference, in September, and at the NGA Fall Operations Conference in October.

Interested participants will be required to complete an application form. There will be four categories of awards considered including Large Operators, Medium Operators, Small Operators, and Contractors.

Successful applicants should be able to demonstrate that the program has an overall direct, positive impact on PSMS employee engagement, operational excellence and compliance conformance including incident prevention, emissions mitigation and overall safety culture.

How to Apply:

All NGA member organizations (operating organizations and contractors that serve operators) are welcome to submit a completed application.

  • Applications are due to NGA no later than July 26th, and must be completed in full to be considered.
  • You can find the application HERE.
  • Send all information to:

Northeast Gas Association

1800 West Park Drive, Suite 340, Westborough MA 01581

Attention: Paul Armstrong, Vice President Operations


Please direct any questions about this program to Bob Wilson, Vice President Special Projects, , (607) 643-5111

Selection Process:

The NGA leadership team in conjunction with our PSMS Consultant, will review submitted applications. There are 4 categories of awards, including Large Operators, Medium Operators, Small Operators and Contractors. The review team will determine recipients prior to the NGA Executive Conference, which takes place in September of each year. The Review Team may select more than one recipient in each category when submitted programs warrant such recognition.

Schedule & Deadlines:

June 21, 2024 - Application opens.

July 26, 2024 - Application submittal deadline. NGA Review Team begins the review process.

August 23, 2024 - NGA Review Team completes review of submitted applications and selects and notifies recognition recipient(s).

September 2024 - Recipient(s) will receive recognition at the NGA Executive Conference.

October 2024 - Recipient(s) will receive recognition at the Fall Operations Conference and will be asked to address the attendees at the Conference to describe their safety program.